David Bedford and Tom Newman:
Variations On A Rhythm Of Mike Oldfield
(released 1995)

Further information:

David Bedford's website

David Bedford fan site
by Jeff Gower

Tom Newman's website

Tom Newman fan site
by Marcus Junglas

Tom Newman's
charity website



Track Listing

1: Variations On A Rhythm Of Mike Oldfield David Bedford
2: Superman - demo Tom Newman
3: Day Of The Percherons - demo Tom Newman
4: Lord, Have Mercy On My Eyes Tom Newman


Variations On A Rhythm Of Mike Oldfield:
: The Electric Candle Percussion Ensemble

Tom Newman tracks:
: Tom Newman
Guitar, piano: Mike Oldfield


Variations On A Rhythm Of Mike Oldfield is David Bedford's avant-garde composition, based on the bass line from the end of Tubular Bells Part One. It was recorded in 1973, but the tape went missing, to be rediscovered over 20 years later, when it was released for the first time.

The other three tracks are out-takes from Tom Newman's album Fine Old Tom, which also appear as bonus tracks on the CD edition of that album. Two of them, Day Of The Percherons and Superman, are included on the remastered Faerie Symphony And Other Stories.



Join - Members - Submissions - Mike Oldfield - FAQ - Links